PHONE:         +267.223.3322

E-MAIL:         [email protected]

The Pennsylvania Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association (PTHA) works hard to protect and provide for the Parx Racing horsemen through the guarantee of live racing, horsemen’s rights, health care and pension for horsemen, benevolence programs, and more.


Recent Posts
PA Day at the Races
Image Alt

Parx Hall of Fame

Parx Racing Hall of Fame

In 2011, the PTHA and Parx Racing joined forces to create a Hall of Fame for outstanding horses, trainers, jockeys, owners, and those recognized for their special achievements in the racetrack’s history. On September 22, 2012, the official Hall of Fame opened on the third floor of the Parx Racing grandstand, in the hallway to the Steakhouse.

Immediately noticeable as guests enter the hallway is a nearly life-size sepia wall covering of Champion Smarty Jones with exercise rider Pete Van Trump aboard, and trainer John Servis alongside on his pony. A look straight ahead, and a glass-enclosed sculpture of a standing Smarty Jones commemorates the PA-bred colt who put Pennsylvania on the map as a leader in both the racing and breeding industry, and who was a 2011 inductee into the Hall of Fame, along with his owners and breeders Pat and Roy Chapman, trainer John Servis, and jockey Stewart Elliott. Especially popular is a wall of drawings by Peb, the well-known caricaturist of Thoroughbred racing horses and people.

The warm, dark wood paneling on either side of the hall is in contrast to the bright colors of the leading owners’ silks on one side, and on the other, photos of the inductees above burnished plaques bearing their names and achievements.

Although the induction ceremonies are held once a year, the memories can be enjoyed every day up in the Hall of Fame.

Parx Racing Hall of Fame Inductees

Augustin Stable, George Strawbridge2011Owner
Stanley I. Joselson2011Owner
Someday Farm, Roy & Pat Chapman2011Owner
Robert W. Camac2011Trainer
Scott A. Lake2011Trainer
John C. Servis2011Trainer
Robert Green2011Special Achievement
Craig "Donnelly" Harris2011Special Achievement
Keith Jones2011Special Achievement
Anthony Black</a2011Jockey
Stewart Elliot2011Jockey
Rick Wilson2011Jockey
Dainty Dotsie2011Horse
My Juliet2011Horse
Smarty Jones2011Horse
Indian Mills Stock Farm, Roland Aristone2012Owner
Keystone Stables, David & Emma Reynolds2012Owner
Dennis "Goose" Heimer2012Trainer
Walter C. Reese2012Trainer
Martin L. Fallon2012Trainer
William Hogwood2012Special Achievement
Lawrence R. Riviello2012Special Achievement
Jeffrey S. Lloyd2012Jockey
John "Jake" Nied, Jr.2012Jockey
Matthew J. Vigliotti2012Jockey
Cheating Arthur2012Horse
Devil's Honor2012Horse
Gallant Bob2012Horse
Guadalupe Preciado2013Trainer
Mark J. Reid2013Trainer
Salvatore DeBunda2013Special Achievement
Jose Luis Flores2013Jockey
Cagey Exuberance2013Horse
Fire Plug2013Horse
Win Man2013Horse
Dr. Steven Appel, DDS2014Owner
Jack Armstrong2014Owner
Philip Aristone2014Trainer
Michael Ballezzi, Esq.2014Special Achievement
Bruce Casella2014Special Achievement
Victor Molina2014Jockey
Broad Brush2014Horse
Roamin Rachel2014Horse
Whistle Pig2014Horse
Joseph E. Asbell2015Owner
Plumstead Stables2015Owner
Edward Lehman2015Trainer
John Pelino2015Special Achievement
Anthony D. Ricci2015Special Achievement
Jack Servis2015Special Achievement
Kendrick Carmouche2015Jockey
Ben's Cat2015Horse
Mr. Nickerson2015Horse
Kathleen DeMasi2016Trainer
Ronald Glorioso2016Trainer
Connie Youmans2016Special Achievement
Frankie Pennington2016Jockey
Jorge Tejeira2016Jockey
Banjo Picker2016Horse
Salvatore M. DeBunda2017Owner
Dick Jerardi2017Special Achievement
Richard Vega2018Trainer
Dr. Patricia M. Hogan, VMD2018Special Achievement
Russell B. Jones, Jr.2018Special Achievement
Edward G. Rendell2018Special Achievement
Page McKenney2018Horse
Alfredo Velazquez2019Trainer
Dr. James Penny, V.M.D.2019Special Achievement
Nicholas Saponara2019Special Achievement
Discreet Lover2019Horse
Imperial Hint2019Horse
Cathryn Sophia2021Horse
Pure Sensation2021Horse
Spun to Run2021Horse
Eugene Euster2021Trainer
Patricia Farro2021Trainer
Robert "Butch" Reid2021Trainer
Josiah Hampshire2021Jockey
Vince Reed2021Special Achievement
Roberto Velez2021Special Achievement
Suzanne Jenkins2022Trainer
Roberto Rosado2022Jockey
Robert Bork2022Special Achievement
Senator Robert M. Tomlinson2022Special Achievement
Chub Wagon2023Horse
Jack G. Mondel2023Owner
Joe Wilson2023Special Achievement